Local Living in Taipei

Staying with a local for 5 days in Taipei gave me the chance to well, live like one. I found the room through AirBnb after a mix-up with my Couchsurfing host which resulted in me not being able to couch surf AND losing my reservation at Inn Cube. Of course, my host, Louis and his apartment mate, a young man who couldn’t speak English, were busy wuth their lives so I was pretty much left alone. It was just fine as the arrangements with AirBnb was really more for cheap accommodations rather than interactions with your host the way Couchsurfing would expect it.

The neighborhood was nice and quiet with small apartment blocks.

image

The address was easy to find as street signs were both in Taiwanese and English. “Xinyi Rd. Sec. 5 Lane 150 Alley 22” sounds more confusing than it really is.

image

After descending Xiangshan mountain which was literally on the neighborhood, I took a quick stroll and found delightful features of local architecture.

Modern bay windows on an old house.

image

Taipei is a small city so land is at a premium.  Build up seems to be the mantra.

image

Here’s a nice cover for a doorbell.

image

Now on to the nice apartment which was my home away from home for 5 days.

The main apartment entrance.

image

The apartment was on the 5th floor. No elevator, of course.

image

More stairs.

image

It’s the start of the Plum Rain season so umbrellas are out.

image

The view from a window on the stairwell.

image

A door to an apartment.

image

There are two main doors. An outer steel one which is the main door and an inner one. The outer one has vents and is the one that’s securely locked. If you’re at home,  you can keep it locked and leave the inner door open. You let some outside air in while keeping yourself secure.

image

Once inside is a little porch. Remember to leave ALL footwear here.

image

Aha! The apartment building may look old but inside is modern. There’s even a piano. I wonder how they managed to bring it up.

image

My room with a big window. The weather was cool and it was chilly in the evenings so I didn’t mind having no airconditioning.

image

I enjoyed staying here. It was in away from the bustle if the city center and every day as I walked to the MRT, Taipei 101 loomed tall. It’s just a quick 10-15 minute walk.

image

Best of all, the trailhead to Xangshan or Elephant Mountain is just a few meters away.

image

The apartment reminded me of the one I stayed at in Hongkong October last year which I also found in AirBnb. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Categories: Taiwan | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

