Trekking in Kalaw

Did a trek today with two other people— Carl from Scotland and Ericka from England. They’re a couple based in Bangkok. Very friendly and nice.  I arranged my trek via Golden Lily. It was supposed to be just me but this morning,  the Singh guy I spoke to yesterday asked if the couple could join me as there were no more guides available. I agreed so he gave  me back 5k as a group trek only cost 15k.

The trail brought us nice views of rolling mountains dotted with pine trees.

image

image

image

The trails were wide  and are actually used by the occasional motorbike.

image

Sometimes I do wonder the sense of waking a trail when you can very well ride a motorbike. Well, as they say, it’s the walking and not the destination which in this case was none. We were simply hiking to take in the views.

image

I really wasn’t  interested in the views as they weren’t as grand as the ones I’ve seen in my past treks, especially in the Philippines. I was more interested in the villages of the Pa’o, Danu, and Paloang. Unfortunately, as our Nepali guided had already told us earlier, the villages were no longer traditional.

image

image

I suddenly remembered my trekks in northern Laos and northern Vietnam which was full of  traditional  villages. My disappointment was somehow relieved when we saw these kids having fun with wooden  scooters.

image

image

We had lunch at a nice resting area with a beautiful view of the mountains.  Our meal was a delicious chapati and some vegetables.
Our return to Kalaw was via a forest reserve which wasn’t much. We passed by the lake created by the Myanmar government. . .
image

. . . And the one by the British during the colonial period.
image

There were locals having a picnic at the viewpoint and the women were in beautiful formal wear so I said to them, “beautiful” which brought much giggling. The most beautifully dressed asked to have her pic taken with us. She then came back with bannanas and bottled water! Another group also asked to have their pic with us. So much fun! Very nice people.

Leaving the forest, we passed by dried rice fields.
image

Honestly, the trek was something I could have missed altogether. The views were nothing spectacular and the villages were not much. Our guide was very good though as he spoke near fluent English and showed us things such as a squirrel.

A day trekking deserves dinner at… where else…. Everest.
image

At least, I can always tell the folks back home I had dined at Everest!!

image

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

