Leaving Inle and Back to Mandalay

Skipped the egg and toast breakfast at the hotel and headed to Minglar Market for some good local and cheap breakfast of Shan noodle soup and tofu. I really like toe tofu. It’s pillowy soft and tastes like egg.

Walking back to the hotel, I couldn’t resist havinffreshly fried dough  sticks and a cup of coffee. I’m gonna miss all these.

Spent the rest of the day just walking around the town. Like other towns and villages I’ve been in Myanmar, there are always beautiful, if not run down, houses.

image

image

image

Lunch stop was at Thanaka Garden which had very good reviews at Trip Advisor. The tranquil  setting on a side street coupled with the few people lunching there made me stay a while. Service is very good and the food portions are huge.

Appetizer was a plate of fried cracklings.

I had a tomato salad which was dressed in a light vinaigrette. I’ve never eaten so many tomatoes in my whole life. These tomatoes, by the way, are brown by the Intha in their floating gardens.

My main course was a huge Inle steamed fish which is actually stuffed with some herbs then fried and smothered with vegetables and covered in a sweet-sour sauce.

Dessert was a plate of watermelon with some jaggery.
It was a good meal though the fish was a bit of a letdown as it wasn’t tasty as I expected it to be.

For dinner, I just had two chickpeas crepe I buy from a corner stall. I was taking the night bus so i didn’t want to be too full.

Categories: Myanmar | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

