Sunset on the Boat: Bye Bagan

My last night in Bagan and it’s New Year’s Eve. So I thought I’d take a boat on the Ayeryawaddy to see the sunset.  The manager at Shwe Na Din (very helpful guy) booked the boat for me. My e-bike driver brought me to the jetty behind Bophaya where we were met by someone who brought me to the boat.  You gotta trust these locals to arrange things for you.  You just show-up and everything is settled without you understanding a word in the transaction.  I love it.

image

Got on the boat and we were off.

image

About 30 minutes later, the boat driver cut the engine and we drifted in the middle of the river. It was just a little past 4:30. There were many other boats including a large cruise ship that was anchored near a sandy bank which was being set-up for an outdoor dinner.

image

With nothing to do, I had some thanaka put on my face by the lovely young lady who must be the boat driver’s girlfriend.

image

image

By the way, the guy behind isn’t the driver.  He’s someone else.  We had the selfie when we docked.

Sunset was lovely.

image

image

image

We drifted quietly back to shore. Lovely time spent.

image

image

Practicals
It cost 20, 000 kyat for the entire boat. Much cheaper than the USD25 9f some boat companies.

Total trip is an hour and a half.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

