Good Morning, Yangon!

I arrived at the Yangon bus station (not sure which one) at 5:30 this morning,  9 hours after I left Bagan.
image

The JJ Express bus was as reliable and comfortable as ever. A mini-bus picked me up and other passengers in different hotels around Bagan then brought us to the bus station where 3 buses were waiting. I went to the counter to get my assigned bus and was given Bus No. 1.
image

With only three seats a row, there was ample seating space and leg room. I got seat D3 which means row D, 3rd seat which is the solo seat.
image

The luggage compartment above the seats was like an airline’s.
image

It included a stop around 10:30 pm for dinner and as is always the case with buses in Myanmar, everyone had to get off.

Anyway, I took a cab (yehey for cabs!) to SAT hostel in Lamadaw road. Check-in was still at 2pm so I just dropped my bags and did the Lonely Planet walking tour. Fortunately,  the hostel was walking distance to Sule Paya which is ground zero of the itinerary.  Walking to the pagoda,  I stopped to look at some snacks being peddled. I was asking what they were when middle-aged Chinese guy on his way to the tea-shop beside it cheerily answered my question. He then invited me to join him and two gentlemen seated inside for some tea and snacks.  His treat!

image

After that free breakfast, I went on my way. The sights below are in the order of the Lonely Planet walking tour.

Sule Paya

image

image

City Hall

image

image

Former Immigration Department
It’s now a bank.

image

I didn’t take any pics of the Immanuel Baptist Church.

High Court

image

Mahabandoola Garden

image

The sidewalk was closed on the way to Myawaddy Bank and the former Yangon Region Office which was being converted into a hotel. So I took a detour to Merchant Road and saw this lovely building.

image

And a nat shrine.

image

From a side street I exited to Strand Road and to the Customs House.

image

The Yangon Regional Court is one of favorites.

image

The massive Port Authority

image

The famed Strand Hotel. Sorry, but the other Sarkies Brothers property, the Eastern Oriental Hotel in Georgetown is more beautiful.

image

No pictures at the Central Post Office. Along Pansodan are three really nice structures.

Myanmar Agricultural Development Bank

image

image

The Inways Water Development Company

image

And my favorite, the Lokanat Gallery Building whose upper floors have become residential quarters.

image

image

Heading back to Mahabandoola Road, I passed these bookstalls.

image

I didn’t make it to the Ministers Office as I was hungry. Had this chicken biryani for only about Php 90.

image

I also had some stamps made bearing my name spelled out in English and Myanmar script. Had my sisters’ names made too.

image

I ended my walking tour at the Bogyoke Aung Sun market.

image

Categories: Myanmar | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

