The Saga of the Pepper Bun

image

So I finally braved the line for the famous pepper bun at Raohe Market. There are other stalls selling buns at Raohe but the one at the entrance by the temple is THE bun of your peppery dreams.

Arriving at the market, I was greeted by a long winding line.

image

image

The bun had to wait. I was too hungry. I entered the bowels of the crowded market. First stop was… what else but Taiwanese sausage on a stick (NT 45). There was a choice of sauces to lather your sausage with such as wasabi or garlic. I preferred my sausage bare naked.

image

For veggies, I had fried mushrooms (NT60). On second thought, are mushrooms vegetables or are they in a class of their own? Hmmmm…

image

image

My favorite is the deep-fried taro balls with cheese inside. At NT50 for two pieces, its quite expensive but really really yummy!

image

image

My hunger pangs satiated, I was ready for the line at the pepper bun. Arriving at the stall, the line had considerably shortened. While standing in line, you can watch the buns being made.

image

image

The line moved quickly and in about 5 minutes, I had the precious bun in my hand.

image

It was hot, heavy, and flaky. The meat was really peppery good and filling. Worth the wait.

Categories: Taiwan | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

