It’s a Don Muang Day

Merry Christmas!   Flew out of Manila promptly at 6:20am and arrived at Bangkok a good ten minutes before the ETA.  Perfect flying weather– no bumps. Managed to get some snoozes in and whiled away the time listening to Handel’s “Messiah.”  Finished part 1 before my bluetooth headphone lost all connections with my ITouch.  Dunno why. Close to arrival anyway so just packed my stuff and settled in for the smooth final approach.  Immigrations at Bangkok was surprisingly empty.  Grabbed some breakfast at the Family Mart, bought a True Value SIM card (TH 600 for 15 days unli data and TH 100 worth of calls and text) then boarded the free shuttle to Don Muang airport.

I was flying at 6:30am next day to Chiang Mai so I booked myself at Nine Backpacker just 5 minutes by foot from the airport via the pedestrian bridge.  Left my big bag at left luggage (TH 75/24 hrs) so I didn’t need to haul it.

Found the hostel easily following the directions and pics (Look!  There’s the temple!) sent me earlier.

The room was small and the toilet/shower even smaller.  It was clean though, the a/c strong, and there was an abundance of power outlets, a prized and rare feature in budget accomodations.



Seems like I’m the only one here as the receptionist just came and went to checke in.  Just spent the rest of the day catching up on some sleep and getting something to eat at the stalls nearby.

Categories: Thailand | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

